THE PRINCIPAL’S BOOK OF THE MONTH

The Principal's Book of the Month
The Principal’s Book of the Month has been a Maury tradition for years. Now, you can access these read-alouds outside of school! Each book centers on a theme that has been a focus for the year.

For 2019-2020, the books will focus on persistence and resilience. We introduce our year with Linus the Little Yellow Pencil by Scott Magoon. Linus and his eraser, Ernie, have a challenge to create with the most heart, but they don’t always agree on the strategy. How will they persist and overcome this challenge?

Click below to find out.
Thank You Omu!

Thank You, Omu!

Posted on November 21, 2019 by Maury Elementary

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that’s perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu’s delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers ... View the Video

A Little Chicken

A Little Chicken

Posted on October 25, 2019 by Maury Elementary

Dot is a little chicken, who is, let’s face it, a little chicken. Can she find a way to pluck up her courage? “A gently humorous take on conquering fear that’s also a fine read-aloud.” —Kirkus Dot is scared of lots of things: wolves, bears, the occasional lawn ornament. But when one of her mother’s ... View the Video

Linus The Little Yellow Pencil

Posted on September 19, 2019 by Maury Elementary

Linus and his eraser, Ernie, don’t always see eye to eye. But with the family art show drawing near, these two will have to sharpen their collaboration to make something neither one could do on their own! This ode to art by the illustrator of Spoon and Chopsticks points out the power of sharing the creative process and sticking ... View the Video